Dumfiesshire Province Curling – Mansfield Trophy

The final of Mansfield Trophy was played recently between Johnstone and Waterbeck curling clubs. This trophy was first presented in 1907 by the 5th Earl of Mansfield to Dumfriesshire Province Curling. The final of this double rink competition was a repeat of last years final with Johnstone again being the victors by ten shots to six.

The winning Johnstone teams was Jack Strawhorn (Skip) Hayden Whitelaw, Jack Bell & Arol Hyslop & who beat Gareth Owen (Skip), David Owen, Erin Davidson & Graham Anderson by seven shots to two and Ewan Paul (Skip), Claire Sloan, Harry Whitelaw & Ian Caven who losed to Craig Davidson (Skip), Stuart Grieve, Alistair Laird & Derek Plumstead by four shots to three.

Richard Smith secretary of the province committee oversaw the presentation, he thanked the province committee for sponsoring the competition before presenting the prizes to the finalists. Pictured (Left to Right) back row Arol Hyslop, Jack Strawhorn, Ewan Paul & Ian Caven, front row Jack Bell, Harry Whitelaw, Clair Sloan 7 Hayden Whitelaw.